A sustainable new generation

All cars in all classes are governed by strict rules to make the competition as fair as possible, while still allowing scope for individual tuning and solutions. Even so, the aim is that the drivers and teams should compete on terms that are as equal as possible.

Since 2022, modern international rally is divided into five classes, from Rally1 to Rally5. WRC represents the top three classes: Rally1, Rally2 and Rally3. Here is a closer description of each class.

Cars 2022


Rally1 are the cars used in the main class of WRC. These are the factory teams, or factory-backed teams, that develop and race cars built around a tubular space frame with a carbon fibre chassis – these are called silhouette cars.

2023 is the second season under the latest regulations with a hybrid drivetrain: both a conventional 1.6-litre turbocharged combustion engine, and an electric unit that provides extra power in acceleration, provided there is energy in the battery. The battery is charged when the driver brakes, and of course during servicing.

As well as for extra power, electric drive is also used for driving in the service park and in certain sections of the transport stages, mainly through towns and villages.The combustion engine uses a completely fossil-free fuel that is standardised for all competition.

In 2023 there are three manufacturers in the WRC class with Rally1 cars: Ford, Hyundai and Toyota.


WRC2 are factory-built cars that are sold and can be run by private teams, but there are also full-factory and semi-factory teams that compete in this class with Rally2 cars, previously designated R5.Rally2 cars are based on an original chassis according to strict guidelines in the technical regulations, where the manufacturers have brought in alternative components in the form of engine, driveline, suspension, brakes and so on.Unlike Rally1, Rally2 cars have no electric power unit but use a 1.6-litre turbocharged engine only.

Rally2 are slightly simpler than Rally1, but they are still very advanced rally cars.

Many manufacturers build and sell Rally2 cars: Skoda, Ford, Citroën, Hyundai and VW, and recently also Toyota has presented a new Rally2 Yaris.


  • At least 2,500 identical units of the standard model must have been manufactured in the past 12 months
  • 1.6-litre, direct-injection, turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 32 mm valves
  • Power regulated to about 285 hp
  • Engine block based on the same specifications as the standard car
  • Modification permitted on crankshafts, connecting rods, pistons, cylinder liners, valves and camshafts
  • Permanent four-wheel drive, sequential five-speed transmission with paddle shifters on the steering wheel
  • Mechanical front and rear differentials
  • 7×15 inch wheels for gravel, 8×18 inch for asphalt
  • 300 mm diameter brake discs for gravel, 355 mm for asphalt
  • Weight: 1230 kg minimum, 1390 kg with driver and co-driver


The Rally3 class was introduced in 2022 to reduce the step from national to international rally. A simpler car for recruiting new drivers, and also to give local drivers in the different countries an opportunity to perform to a wider audience – and especially to promote Junior WRC.

Rally3 cars are built on an existing chassis, but with engines between 0.9 and 1.6 litres, with or without turbo. Five-speed sequential transmission, four-wheel drive, 235 hp.

Suspension and brakes upgraded for competition use, but generally somewhat simpler engineering than Rally2. All to keep the price down to enable more people to compete.

Ford was the first manufacturer to have a Rally3 car homologated (approved), although more are in the pipeline.