Ford wants to improve victory success

Ford has won Rally Sweden five times in a row. With Jari-Matti Latvala and Petter Solberg in this year’s factory cars, the team has sights set on yet another triumph.

With two former winners, Ford World Rally Team to start in this year’s Rally Sweden. Solberg triumphed in a Subaru Impreza 2005 and 2008, Latvala took his first WRC victory in Sweden in particular. Then as now, was driving his Ford. Since the triumph of 2008 has been Latvala finished third twice. Of course, he aims at a place on the podium again.
– It is my goal, says Finn, who worked hard to get their Fiesta RS WRC aligned perfectly on the test and really looking forward to start next week.

Another who longs for Rally Sweden is Petter Solberg, newcomer in the Ford factory team. Unlike Latvala, who ran off and broke, Solberg had a perfect start to WRC year with a third place in the Monte Carlo Rally.
– This will be my first race on soft ground in a Fiesta RS WRC. I only have two test days to get used to the car on snow and ice, but I’m not worried. Asphalt was the surface on which I expected difficulties with finding the car, but I felt well comfortable directly in the Monte Carlo Rally, Petter says, adding:

– Ford has a great hindsight, Rally Sweden, and both I and Jari-Matti want to extend it.

Petter Solberg is the driver the starting grid to gain maximum advantage from home roads in Rally Sweden.

Friday’s first special stage SS2 Mitandersfors go past the Solberg family home on the Swedish side of the border.
– I can stand on the steps of the house and see the road. I think it will be brought together many people and TV crews, where the atmosphere should be fine. I do know at least the way good, he says with a smile.

Ford’s victory in Rally Sweden
2011: 1) Mikko Hirvonen, Finland, Ford Fiesta WRC
2010: 1) Mikko Hirvonen, Finland, Ford Focus WRC
2008: Jari-Matti Latvala, Finland, Ford Focus WRC
2007: Marcus Gronholm, Finland, Ford Focus WRC
2006: Marcus Gronholm, Finland, Ford Focus WRC
* 2009 Executed World Series only winter race in Norway, Rally Norway